What To Expect At Your First Blogger Event

It’s been a few years since I’ve been to an event of any kind actually, even though I’ve had my various blogs for a while now I just never fancied attending any events until recently.

In the Summer I attended my first blogger event with another blogger pal of mine, I had an idea of what to expect but I wasn’t too sure, so it did make me a little nervous because   there are some bitchy bloggers out there and I just didn’t want to deal with that at my age.

So I went with an open mind. I’d heard so many good things from other people saying how they had made so many new friends at these places and that everyone is welcoming and friendly and so on, so I thought it was time to make the leap.

FIrst off, I’d like to say that I don’t mean to generalise and lump all events into one big fat chunk, I understand this isn’t the case and that it is all relative. But with that in mind, this is how I personally found it to be like.

im quite intuitive, I think I’m a good judge of character and my first impressions of people and places are usually spot on. As we were shown to the special “area” we met the PR peeps who I have to say, were so lovely and friendly in a completely natural way.

When you go to your first event you will notice the SLR Cameras hanging from many people’s necks. Don’t be intimidated by this, I can’t afford one and I’m happy using my iPhone, but my friend commented that if she wasn’t a tough bird it would have probably made her feel like she was less of a blogger for not having one.

I was expecting more chatter between the bloggers, I ended up chatting more to the event holders and the special guests. Throughout the evening I kept hearing comments being made by 2 bloggers in particular, I don’t know if they just felt they were better than everyone else or just were natural bitches but it put me on edge as I couldn’t understand why they were being so unfriendly. After a couple more of their sniggers I decided to move away from where they were standing because it was making me want to leave.

If I was on my own I would have only stayed about 15 minutes, I was expecting something akin to the Twitter Chats or blog comments where people are bubbly, enthusiastic, have lots to say and are eager to say hi!

Amongst the weirdness there were 3 lovely bloggers who we ended up hanging out with and we exchanged our details and had a good old time checking out the products on show and listening to the amazing VIP’s.

In the end we all decided to leave just as it was getting super duper packed with what I call ‘the big time bloggers’ who btw were so obnoxious and big headed. There was very much an invisible divide once they arrived, it is what it is I guess.

All in all, I’m glad I went, but I came home feeling very inadequate about my blogs and my writings, I don’t know if this just was a one-off but I was quite disappointed with the lack of camaraderie.

The new people we met was a plus, even though no word or tweet or reply or comment has been heard from them since. It left me wondering is this all a facade?

XO

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you <3

