Moving Home…Again! | Tea & Lipsticks

This will be the 6th time I have moved home, but for reasons out of our control, (read: Landlord is selling the home we rent) another move is on the cards, as soon as we find a suitable place.

I actually hate moving, I find it so incredibly stressful and for this reason I am very anxious about everything to do with the move, but on another hand, I am not sorry about saying goodbye to this town.

The 4 years I have lived in this home, have been some of the worst for me, health-wise, financially and mentally. It hasn’t been a happy home, I often feel this place has bought us/me bad luck, so as much as I am worried about the amount of work to do as we can’t afford a removal company, I am trying to look at the change as a good thing. I’m hoping my luck will change as soon as we leave and break free.

The last time I moved home I was working full-time, long hours, finishing at 10 pm – this didn’t help matters, and my place of employment were not flexible with me, which did not help at all. Anyways, as I am currently unemployed and actually the only one not working, this gives me the freedom to pack things up in my own time, because of this, there are a few things I have noticed about packing-up which I hadn’t realised before:

A) The Smaller Stuff Is The Most Time-Consuming To Pack

It hadn’t really occurred to me before, but all the little bits and bobs, like junk drawer items, beauty products, accessories, general smaller appliances that end up in a lived-in home, take forever to pack. I don’t want to just throw them all into a box and then find things broken, so this is leading me to sort everything out one by one, wrapping and putting them in a clearly marked box.

I have been tempted to dispose of so many items as I just keep finding more and more in every drawer and cupboard space, things I had forgotten about, things I think I will use but probably I wont.

B) There Is No Point Packing Your Everyday Items – Whatever They May Be

Clothes-wise, It is easier to pack absolutely everything out of season first and literally only leave out what you absolutely use every single day. The same goes for electronics and paperwork.

This has left me with my laptop, phone, banking details and i.d, daily toiletries and clothes. The only exception is a formal piece of wear for possible job interviews and gym gear.

It is crazy what we think we need isn’t it? As I write this, I am actually feeling a little better about this situation, I feel pretty organised and hopeful, I know this will be very tiring but I can handle that more than stress.

Is anyone else moving soon, do you have a system you follow when boxing your belongings up? Would it be useful if I made another blog post about how I am organising everything?

Thank you so much for reading.
XO

4 thoughts on “Moving Home…Again! | Tea & Lipsticks

  1. It sounds like you need this move. It also sounds quite therapeutic that you are going through all your stuff and disposing of everything necessary in life. I hope the move goes well for you and it also brings lots of happiness and new beginnings to you 🙂
    Rebecca @ http://www.queenbeady.com

    Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you <3

