Adult Runaway

Ever since I can remember if things got too much, if I was fed up with my job, love-life or particular friends I would immediately make plans for the quickest getaway, albeit, a vacation but still it was my sort of ‘runaway’. Escaping from everything and everyone even for just a few days made me feel so much better.

This is in fact how I met my husband on one of my ‘runaways’ many, many years ago..it was either quit my job or jet away – I chose the latter.  Because of situations since then, that was my last escape, I mean I have since traveled..well visited relatives, supported my hubbie with his deployments and stationing, been a guest at a wedding..but it just isn’t the same. For me, getting away means going somewhere alone, with a friend, or your chosen one far away where you don’t know anybody and nobody knows you.

I know it isn’t anybody’s fault but I am yearning for that feeling, I have this urge to just runaway for a bit, getaway from it all just for a little bit, to somewhere new for a little while, not worry about money, finding a home, a job,..the list goes on.  I want space from people, I don’t want to keep thinking “I better remember to reply to that text otherwise they will get mad” constantly, weekly and monthly. I want a Sunday where it is just me and my love, having a lazy day, just ‘being’.

You could argue I could just book a bargain deal holiday and that would be that. Unfortunately no..not this year or even next year we just can’t..

Will I ever get to runaway from this life for a bit, even for just a day..? Who knows..but if I do I will be sure to let you know..

X

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you <3

